Gunner Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All;
I have primarily joined this group to find out if anyone else is having issues getting cleared to buy a gun. TWICE in the past 90 days I have been placed on HOLD at a local sporting goods store. I HAVE NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER that should prevent me from buying a gun of any kind. Both times I was given a HOLD. BOTH times I was not denied, but 30 days later I was still not yet cleared! So the background check system just let my request fall dead to the floor without so much as a response of any kind. I am relatively new to buying guns, but I bought property in the country where I can hunt and camp. I have guns that I have been gifted, as well as a couple I bought from priivate sellers, fully legally. I just want to know if anyone else is having this issue?

·
Registered
5,681 Posts
Been a while since I've bought one, too long really, but uve never had an issue. I do hold my breath waiting for confirmation each time, for fear some government twit punched in some misinformation. All the answers on the form aren't no, at least not the times I've filled them out.

·
Registered
3,578 Posts
Did you ask the gun dealer if everyone is having this problem? Is he seeing a backlog coming from all background checks? If you are the only one having this problem, ask him what you can do about it. Maybe try a different gun store??

·
Registered
863 Posts
I get delayed every time, but I always get a proceed within a couple of days. NICS has 3 days to process your background check, not counting weekends and holidays. If they haven't responded, the store can sell you the gun, but it's at their discretion. I would find a store that will release the gun without a response after 3 days. Explain your situation, and ask in advance.