Gunner Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new member and also new to reloading. I have been a machinist for 35 years. I would like to dabble in casting some bullets. Most bullet molds seem to sold out right now. I have a cnc mill and also a tool and cutter grinder to make the tooling. I would like to make the tool and use circular interpolation to machine the mold. I would also like to ad a 5 sided pin to make hollow point bullets. my question is how much oversize does the mold need to be to make the bullet the proper size? I assume the bullet will shrink a slight amount after casting when it cools. I would also like to powder coat the bullets.

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
About molding bullets......
My friend owned a service station.
He gave me the lead weights from tire changing.
I really thought I had hit the jackpot.
Well I melted all of them down in bulk and poured the lead into a biscuit pan for molds.
Everything was going great.
I made hundreds of bullets.
Some perfect an others not so perfect.
It was a great past time.
I was shooting the reloads in a 686 S&W revolver.
I cleaned it often.
Then one day I inspected it thoroughly.
The forcing cone in the barrel was really scratched.
That gave me a scare.
How could it have happened?
Well all of the time I never gave a thought to grit in the lead from the tire weights.
I gave all of the lead to a guy that shoots muskets and never went back.
So to the molding, think twice!

·
Super Moderator
10,780 Posts
Lead wheel weights have been banned in several states so tougher to find them. Some states have banned lead bullets so casting isn't what it once was.

·
Registered
4 Posts